According to Google, more than 100 billion searches are taken place each month. People almost search for everything from information to purchase. If you run a business and can cater their needs by Google search network then, you can get sales as well from their search activities. Google Search network is used to drive traffic through Google.com.
How to Set Up Google Search Network Campaigns?
If you are running a store and have an inventory of products, then you can also set shopping ads by creating an account in Google Merchant Center. Here are the benefits of having shopping ads
- Huge Traffic
- Better Click Through Rates
- High-Quality Leads
- Broader Reach
Before setting up any Google search network campaign, check the hierarchy of your Google AdWords Account
Step 1- Choose the Ad Format
There are many ad formats available but it depends on the campaign type and sub-type you have selected while creating the campaign. For more details check How to set up an AdWords Campaign
Step 2- Create an Effective Ad
Google search network mainly uses mainly Text Ads which are displayed at the top or below of the Google search results. Every text ad is made up of Headline, Display URL and Description as shown in the below image.
Use Ad Preview and Diagnosis tool to check how your ad appears without affecting your ad statistics.
Also, check tips for creating an effective search ad through this video.
For creating an effective ad, you should know be expert in the following-
Step 3- Choose bid and budget
Depending on the business goals, you can select the bidding options as follows-
Goal 1 – To drive Traffic to the Site
Bidding Options- Focus on Clicks as Cost per click or CPC bidding- Automatic and Manual CPC Bidding
You can choose automatic bidding in which you need to select the daily budget and it will automatically maximize the clicks. Automatic bidding are as follows-
1. Maximize clicks- The aim of this bidding is to maximize the clicks as per the allotted daily budget.
2. Target Search page Location- In this bidding, AdWords will show ads on the top of the firsts page results or anywhere on the first page results when the query is matched with the selected keywords.
Another method is manual CPC bidding in which you need to set bidding amount and allocate the advertising budget. You need to choose max CPC but the amount will be charged as actual CPC. Check how to reduce max CPC amount.
Goal 2- To generate brand awareness
Bidding Options- Focus on Impressions or cost per thousand impressions
This option is available with the search network with display select campaign and the cost will be charged only on thousand impressions.
Goal 3- To get conversions or achieve ROI goals
Bidding Options- Target CPA or cost per acquisition, Target ROAS
If you are looking to drive sales then select Target CPA bidding option. Remember to enable conversion tracking. It uses historical conversions for generating conversions
In order to get the return on Ad spent, choose target ROAS bidding. For more information on ROAS calculation check Campaign Measurement Strategy
For setting bids, you can choose keyword Planner or Bid Simulators.
Step 4- Set Bid Adjustments
There are many types of Bid Adjustments as listed below-
- Ad Scheduling
- Top Content
- Targeting Methods
- Remarketing list for search Ads
You can select any of the above bid adjustments or multiple bid adjustments. To target specifically to the local searchers, you can use location extensions or bid adjustments. According to a study, people look their mobile 50 times a day. So if you can perform mobile advertising and target mobile device users by increasing bid adjustments. Then, you can drive more customers to your local store.
Here is an example from the Google on how the multiple bid adjustments are calculated.
Say you’re running a campaign that targets the U.S. and is scheduled to run all days of the week. And, you’ve set an ad group max CPC bid of US$1. You decide to increase your bid by 20% for California, and decrease your bid by 50% for Saturday. Your resulting bid for a search that occurs in California on a Saturday will be US$0.60. Here’s the math:
Starting bid: $1
California adjustment: $1 + ($1 x 20%) = $1.20
Saturday adjustment: $1.20 + ($1.20 x -50%) = $0.60
Resulting bid for searches in California on Saturday: $0.60
Resulting bid for searches in California on Sunday through Friday: $1.20
Resulting bid for searches in other states on Saturday: $0.50
Resulting bid for searches in other states on Sunday through Friday: $1.00
Step 4- Manage Google Search Network Campaigns
Manage your search network campaigns by selecting ad scheduling, ad delivery, ad rotation and frequency capping, set up conversion tracking. For managing your account check,
For better results choose remarketing lists for search ads or RLSA
Step 5- Measure Your Search Network Campaign
Measurement of your Google Search Network campaigns is very important. It is important to measure clicks, CTRs, impressions, ad performance, keyword performance, statistics based on devices and campaign goals. Check out this video to understand AdWords reports and statistics.
Step 6- Monitor Your Google Search Network Campaigns
To monitor the search network campaigns, use segments, search term reports, analyze organic and paid search results, compare ad performance by auction reports and study attribution reports.
Step 7- Optimize Your Google Search Network Campaigns
Follow the best Google AdWords practices and optimize search network campaigns in order to get a better return on investment.
Also, check campaign measurement and optimization for more details.
Hope this Google AdWords Study guide helps you to master your Google Paid advertising skills and passing the Google AdWords Certification.
Over To You!
Now that you have learned Google Search Network concepts, it’s time to pass Google Search Network Certification.
Latest posts by Shruti Panwar (see all)
- 15 Actionable SEO Tips to Boost Your Traffic in 2019 - February 6, 2019
- 7 Social Media Marketing Trends to Make Impact in 2019 - January 9, 2019
- 7 Effective SEO Techniques that will Work in 2019 and beyond - December 22, 2018